Met Fans are Sheep

It’s not something I am proud to say, and i find it far more embarrassing than any collapse. However, it is becoming increasingly obvious that at least a large vocal minority, and possibly a majority, have become sheep to the media.

Met fans right now are feeling tense and irritated, and it’s only April. We are all still (im)patiently waiting for another title. We spent the last decade and a half listening to rowdy Yankee fans harp on us about how great their team is compared to the Mets. Some fans can brush it off, many take it personally.

Finally, at a time when the Yankees appear weakened, the Mets cannot take advantage. To add insult to injury, the division rival Phillies wins the gold last year.

Any sign of disorder on the 2009 team is under a microscope by the fan base, waiting for a moment to voice their displeasure.

That sound you hear is the collective *SMACK* of the NY media, and several members of the Blogosphere, collectively licking their chops at such an easy target.

The day after the Mets home opener two WFAN hosts berate and bash the new home. So many seats have blind spots, not enough Mets history, too much Dodger history (oh but Jackie should be honored. Make up your mind guys.), etc. etc. etc.

They may be right. However, there were 3 games played at Citifield prior to the home opener. One game by St. Johns, and two exhibition games versus the Boston Red Sox.

Isn’t it very odd that none of these problems were brought up by callers, bloggers, reporters and the thousands of people who showed up for the first three games?

Did the obstructed seats only become obstructed when the game mattered? Did the lack of Mets history or the color of the outfield wall only become more obvious when it counted on the schedule?

Now i grant you i heard some complaints about the lack of Mets colors during the St. Johns game. But nothing during the 2 game stretch vs Boston.

What happened was two guys who needed to pop a rating they knew that saying how nice the stadium is would be a snooze fest.

So they ranted and raved, and the Met fans who attended but didn’t notice, or didn’t think it was worth complaining at the time, suddenly said, “Oh yeah. That’s right.”

Then they do what we do best: Complain. Moan. B*tch. Dance to the harp strings played by two loudmouths on midday and an even bigger one during the next show. The other channel isn’t much better.

The print and blog media aren’t left out either, as they were eager to grab onto these points in order to sell newspapers, ad spaces or acquire hits. Let’s face facts: Telling people to cool down doesn’t bring in the cash.

The print media don’t even listen to themselves if it gets in the way of a good story. After Fred Wilpon announced there were, and always was going to be, a Mets museum, the media treated it like he just thought of it now, possibly too little too late.

However, if they just did their jobs and did the research, they might have discovered that he was not late. He just did not do a good enough job letting the fans know what to expect. The Mets should have made it clear that the Mets Museum would open at a later date.

And the Jackie Robinson Rotunda, where fans will enter the state-of-the-art stadium, has risen as a tribute to the man who broke baseball’s color barrier in 1947. But that’s only a preview of what’s to come.

Inspired by the design of Ebbets Field in Brooklyn, Citi Field is being built to have the most intimate atmosphere in the game – not to mention attractions like an interactive Mets museum.

This was from an article in 2007.

This post is not about defending the Mets and Wilpons over the troubles at Citifield. There are flaws. That is disappointing but probably was to be expected.

This is about letting the media dictate how you feel about the Mets. The Mets are a .500 team as of this writing and have struggled with RISP. That does not mean you absolutely need to be nervous about it before we even get to Memorial Day.

What I hope you do after reading this is ignore everything I posted and draw your own conclusions. Draw your own conclusions based on each game, each moment, each article, blog, review, analysis, and any sort of data that you acquire. Do not let what others, including myself, dictate how you should feel, think, and react.

For example, I am not embarrassed to say that I am proud of the 2008 Mets team.

Yes, proud.

I am disappointed they missed the playoffs by a game. However I am proud that a team with no pen, who played nearly 1/2 the year without corner outfielders, who lost the closer for 2 months, the 3rd/4th starter for 6 weeks, who used two AAA catchers for a month in mid summer, a managerial distraction for the first 2.5 months, for getting to 89 wins.

I decided that before I read an article or listened to any analysis after the final game. Then I listened to the rest, took in the input, and decided that I’m keeping my opinion.

All I ask is that before you let anyone, whether it’s SNY announcers, ESPN, print media, or even the fine members of this blog make a decision for you, come to your own conclusion. You’re a Met fan. You had a reputation of being intelligent and not overreacting like a certain other fan base. Get that rep back.

I want to be proud of my fan base again. Before we scream out the Cheers & Boos, we must silence the Baas.

Posted By Robert Z

6 responses to “Met Fans are Sheep

  1. You must not read my blog. I went to the Saturday Boston game, and posted that night how I felt – http://rememberingshea.blogspot.com/2009/04/so-who-plays-here.html

    And I said right then and there that something wasn’t right. One thing I saw but didn’t post was an obstruction that’s covered by this blog – http://transplantedmetsfan.blogspot.com/2009/04/can-you-spot-differences-between-these.html

    I’ll be back there on Saturday to watch an actual game from my “regular” seats.

  2. Robbie Z is that you? You have to remember to put your name on the posts…

    I agree that the media helped accelerate the fans furry, but the Wilpons reactions to the criticism I believe also poured gas on the fire. They’ve been at odds with the fans often and I think a lot of it also comes from unresolved anger.

    I appreciate your view though and welcome a positive attitude around here for a change.

    I don’t necessarily agree with it though. Citi is a great baseball experience and it’s easy to be romanced by that when you first visit. I assumed the rest of the stuff was coming when I pulled punches after the St Johns and Sox games and no matter what the plan was in 2006-2007, having stuff done on time should be been a top priority.

    The fact is I don’t like how they messed with my team in many ways and I appreciate I live in an environment that allows me to be vocal about it. You’ll see I’m not being hypocritical because my posts are consistent from day 1 and have been from my days at MLBTR and all those years on the NJ Forum.

  3. Nik,

    Yeah it’s me. I was rushing to get this up before the game, and forgot to add the signature. Either that or I’m humble.

    To both of you:

    As I mentioned above in my post, maybe not strongly enough, the post isn’t about the problems with Citifield or the team. They exist. My issue is with the NY media’s ability to turn the fan base from being upset or agitated about issues into full-fledged disasters. The fan base is too easily whipped into a frenzy on every issue whether it be something major (obstructions) to minor (the color of the outfield wall).

    I mean, yesterday several papers and blogs went into full rip mode over the wall issue. Look around MLB. Not every team has the outfield wall color matching the team colors. But the fan base is so ready to be guided to the pasture it turns into a huge deal. Same thing with the Gooden signature. A Mets official made a mistake about where he can sign. Would it really be such a huge deal if they erased the signature and put a new one somewhere else?

    We got to stop letting the media make us look like fools. I get more rips from non-met fans about the fan base than i do about the team.

  4. Robert, after reading your post a little closer, I will say that I was certainly ahead of the media curve with problems around the new stadium. That goes back to last summer when some details came out about seating and tickets and names, and then to the post I linked to an my earlier comment.

    In any other town, this may not have blown up like it did. Some teams have murals on the outfield wall with their history (see St. Louis that can see on TV for this week). We’re making a big deal about the outfield wall because we don’t have anything to hold on to as “our own”. Even the old Home Run apple wasn’t originally planned to make the move from Shea, but the team got the pulse of the fans and did that one thing for us.

    The Mets made mistakes. Huge mistakes. And we, as fans and paying customers, called them on it. That’s part of our collective job as fanatics. The media could have ignored this and left this to us to talk about, so either it is a rating game, or the Mets made really huge mistakes and ticked off the media like they ticked off the fans. I won’t begin to dissect who is the chicken and who is the egg in that analogy.

    This is a fan base that’s been burned really bad two years in a row (I don’t even count 2006 as being burned), and the Mets haven’t done anything to better the situation. Now it’s three years in a row.

    I don’t see the fans and bloggers as fools. I see the Mets organization as fools. Bloggers, fans, and media are just doing our respective jobs.

Leave a Reply

