Banner Day, Stripped Naked

Coop and Mr. DyHrdMet at Banner DayBy Taryn “the Coop” Cooper

Enjoying the Mets quirky history and traditions is part of being a Mets fan.

Banner Day is one of those traditions.

It started when I was a kid and started to even go to Mets games.  Back then, see, Banner Day was a tradition steeped in scheduled double headers.  That’s a rarity in and of itself.

So when Banner Day was brought back in part from vocal Mets fans and to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the franchise, it was done on a holiday weekend, for a 1:10 pm Sunday game.

It looked like due to the resounding success of the 2012 return, the Mets decided to schedule Banner Day again during the long weekend, and to celebrate it on a Sunday afternoon.

Until ESPN, hosts of Sunday Night Baseball, claimed the game as an 8:05 pm start.

Needless to say, the same people who complained that Banner Day wasn’t around, and the Mets didn’t care about traditions as much as the fans celebrated it, are now up in arms about the time change.

I’m flabbergasted, and a little late to this game.  But I did some thinking and I actually think this is a good move for the Mets.

For one, Sunday Night games are never a good sell, and never fun to go to.  It’s never a good time.  I guess they must be successful, on some level, since they haven’t done away with the games yet.

It’s a long weekend.  Usually the thinking behind a late start on Sundays meant having to go home on a “school night” for people…those adults, you know, who have to work the next day.

Banner Day in 2012 was a 1:10 pm start.  You know what that meant to the revelers of Banner Day?  We had to be in line by the Bullpen Gate super early.  Prior to 9:30 am, if I remember correctly.  Almost four hours prior to the start of the game.  Maybe DyHrdMet from Remembering Shea can remember more clearly, but I think we maybe took the field around 11:30 am?  That’s still close to two hours prior to the start of the game.

I take mass transit to games.  Some people drive.  Either way, you’ve got to get up pretty frickin early for a holiday weekend and a Sunday game to be able to participate.  I guess it’s a small price to pay to do something fun and what you’re looking forward to.

It took the Twitterverse all of 30 seconds to find something to complain about, regarding this game.  CHANGE THE DATE!! CHANGE THE DAY OF THE GAME!! BLAH!!!

If you want to wax intellectual, and hold onto tradition, remember one small factor: it used to be between games of a double header.  Why not bring THAT back?

Why not look at the bright side of things?

It’s a holiday weekend.  Most people do not HAVE to work the next day, and maybe you can look at it that the barbecues you are planning on attending Monday can be properly prepared for since you don’t have to get up super early to get to CitiField on Sunday.

If a Mets fan ceases to complain, is he or she still a Mets fan?

When I read stuff like this, it makes me scratch my head.  A CHANGE IN TIME will kill Banner Day?  Get a grip.  If the time change bothers you that much, do Banner Day, don’t stay for the game.  It’s THAT simple.  If Banner Day is THAT important to you, find a way to go.

I love Mets traditions, I love the quirky nature of it.  Change is a good thing, adaptability is a big part of it.

Sheesh, bring back the scheduled double headers, if you’re going to complain about it.

I’m sure some asshole will find something wrong with that too, though that’s technically the tradition.

Can you feel me rolling my eyes?

One response to “Banner Day, Stripped Naked

  1. “If a Mets fan ceases to complain, is he or she still a Mets fan?”

    I laughed when I read it!

    I guess I’m in the minority but Banner Day never meant that much to me. I loved going to all of the giveaway days — even wore that unbelievably cheap windbreaker they gave out one year – but Banner Day? Wake me up when Game 2 starts.

Leave a Reply

