Pain in the Boras

bullpigAs Matt Cerrone, from Metsblog, notes SuperAgent Scott Boras is trying to get 16 million per year for free agent Derek Lowe.

http://www.metsblog.com/2009/01/03/starting-pitcher-lowe-wants-16-million-per-year

 

Cripes, that is more than most A-listers from last year (e.g., Zambrano, Peavy, Halladay, C. Lee, Webb, Oswalt, etc.). I like Lowe, I do, but I am growing tired of Boras pitting team(s) against others. Moreover, I am not sure that he is worth this type of money. I certainly understand Boras’ motive, but his latest attempt is classic – the Braves and Phillies. C’mon, these teams are not going to pony up 16 million beans for Lowe. Hold out Omar, the price will come down.

 

Nice try Scotty, nice try. My only response to this would be the same one that Jeff Spicoli had for Mr. Hand in Fast Times at Ridgemont High (if you are under 30 years old- I apologize). boras 

 

Posted by Gene Anthony

5 responses to “Pain in the Boras

  1. Dude, we cannot compare the $$ Lowe is seeking with how much other pitchers made last season. Surely Webb, Peavy, Halladay, etc. would be commanding $16+ mil if they were free agents this offseason. But they signed their contract in previous years – the price of free agents increases every offseason.

    Lowe is worth $16 million. If the Mets let him go, then proceed to sign Ollie Perez for 3 years, $36 million that will be awful.

  2. Boras is crazy, and the Mets are nuts if they bid against themselves, and they most likely know they are. But my issue with Lowe is more about the length of the deal as much as they yearly salary. And I would much rather see Lowe than Perez. I do not need that much adventure not knowing which Perez was going to show up. Lowe may not be as talented, but you know game in and game out, what you are going to get, not to mention in big spots, he has proven it time after time.

    On the other hand, I hope that all of the owners & GMs are taken notes, to see how to deal with Boras, and make him squirm. I am sick of Boras…as I am sure most of us are.

  3. Can’t stand Boras, hopefully nobody else gives Lowe what he wants and the Mets get him by default.

  4. Sure, I wouldn’t mind it. But now I see the Braves and Phillies are involved…ouch.

Leave a Reply

