Revenge of the Fallen: Mets Transform Into Winners, Beat Cardinals 11-0

Transformers

Two things are very clear: 1) I need  a lesson in Photoshop, and 2) The Mets will not go down without a fight.

The Mets shocked and impressed, just one night after a 3-0 loss, with their own shut-out thanks to:

Damn-good Pitching

Fernando Nieve made a strong case for himself after pitching 6 scoreless innings and allowing only 3 hits. Now 3-0, it’s hard to imagine that he’ll be going anywhere once Ollie and Maine return. Most likely, we’ll see Perez working the pen while Nieve sticks around for at least a few more well-deserved starts.

Bad-ass Offense

Nick Evans decided to show off during his first start of the season by hitting a 2-run rocket to left in the 4th.

David Wright had 4 hits, scored 3 runs and had one stolen base.

2 RBIs for Church on 3 hits, 3 for Tatis on 2 hits.

I could keep going, but you get the picture. Everyone did their part last night – Reed, Nieve, Schneider, A. Reyes…Guys were hitting. As a team!

Personally, I don’t like shut-outs. Sure they make you proud, but tight games are more exciting and give you better bragging rights in the end.

However, last night was something special. The “Little Team That Could” from Flushing, NY proved to the world (ok, at least the NL) that they are not going down just yet. Win or lose, there is still some fight left in this team.

Philadelphia lost last night, moving the Mets 1.5 games out of first place. Tonight, the Mets’ other ace, Johan Santana, takes the mound and tries to win the first series for the Mets since the June 5-7 Nationals series.

I think I can, I think I can, I think I can....

I think I can, I think I can, I think I can....

Posted by Emily Doran

Leave a Reply

