Welcome to the Sh$%?!Show

By Taryn “The Coop” Cooper

For many people, this is the game we’ve been waiting since November for…

Jose Reyes’ return to CitiField for the first time in the 2012 season.

And I say…

**YAWN**

I’m looking forward to his video montage but I have to say that there are a few things that bothered me about his departure.  I feel like I’m flogging a dead horse, and I promised myself I wouldn’t write about it.  But I’m being forced to go to tonight’s game, and I would just as well sell the tickets.  And why?

I have better and more important things on my mind.  As an example, I’m a Ranger fan, and Game Seven in the first round is still “Game Seven,” and I have a lot on my mind.  Next, the things that bothered me about his departure is the exact way he ended his time with the Mets.  Now, I defended him getting one at-bat and then winning the batting title.  But he never acknowledged the fans.  Someone at the time told me that we can give him his applause on Opening Day.  I figured it was just as well.

He couldn’t possibly go anywhere else.  Till he did.

Now, I’m kind of thinking of this as a let-down.  No matter what happens Jose Reyes is no longer a Met.  I don’t know why we’re treating this like a World Series appearance.

Usually these games are just a giant build up to be a giant let down.  I’ll go to the game, but I’ll be reporting live for the podcast later as well from CitiField.  I’m looking forward to that.  The game itself, I’d much rather stay home.

Leave a Reply

